What We Do

Alley Theatre is an award-winning independent theatre company founded in 2008 and incorporated in 2011.  The company is led by artistic producer Marisa Emma Smith and co-producer Daniel Arnold; along with artistic producing apprentice Krys Yuan and a diverse board of directors.


Alley Theatre is interested in stories that are seldom told, be they comedic, dramatic, or a mix of both. We produce plays that “make the invisible visible”– through socially conscious content or surprising site-specific venue choices. We’ve mounted productions in hotel rooms, cafes, outdoor public spaces, punk rock venues, and the occasional theatre too! We use talkbacks, interactivity and panel discussions to foster active audience engagement. We’re committed to engaging diverse professional artists in regards to gender, orientation, ethnicity, or ability, and we respectfully acknowledge that we develop and produce our work on unceded xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish), and sel̓íl̓witulh (Tsleil-Waututh) territory.


For details on our values, process and engagement framework click here.


Alley Theatre has received three Jessie Richardson Theatre Awards and thirteen more nominations, including three for “Critic’s Choice Innovation” and three for “Significant Artistic Achievement”.  Six of our productions have been remounted or picked up for subsequent presentation. Marisa Emma Smith is the winner of “The Joanna Maratta Award” for displaying the most promise to contribute to the Vancouver theatre community; Daniel Arnold is the protégé winner of “The Siminovitch Prize”; and the company is a winner of “The Cultchivating Award”. Alley Theatre has received critical acclaim in Vancouver and abroad, including from Time Out New York and The New York Times. Productions include: Confessions, Wicked Shorts, Lost in Place, Tape, Mrs. Warren’s Profession, Kayak, Little One, Marrow, Three Stories Up, O’wet/Lost Lagoon (workshop production), The Good Bride, The Ridiculous Darkness, INHERITANCE: a pick-the-path experience and #whatnow.


Who We Are
Alley Theatre Board of Directors
  • Shaun Jackman  – President
  • Elizabeth Kirkland – Secretary
  • MELISSA OEI - Member at Large
  • SIMRAN GILL - Member at Large
  • RAGINI KAPIL - Member at Large
  • Jocelyn Pitsch – Member at Large
  • Eileen Brosnan – Member at Large
  • JESS AMY SHEAD- Member at Large